After 20+ years of volunteering, it’s time I move on…

I got involved with the Clear Lake All Veterans Memorial website because the memorial was near and dear to my father, Victor Pittman, a dedicated supporter of the memorial. My father, my mother and I have our names on the memorial. The memorial was also near and dear to my cousins/godparents Doug & Dellie Kruger. Doug was a veteran, and they both served as board members for the memorial.

Victor Pittman

My father passed away on Easter Sunday, 1998. I eventually jumped in to help the memorial maintain a web presence out of respect for my father who never lived to see the memorial completed.

I’ve voluntarily rebuilt the Clear Lake Veterans Memorial website several times over the years. In 2008 I registered a domain for them to use because back then many didn’t know how to do this.

Doug Kruger

My cousin/Godfather, Doug Kruger, passed away in July, 2022, preceded in death by his wife, Dellie, leaving a portion of his/their estate to the memorial.

With my dad, Doug and Dellie gone, I let the Clear Lake Veterans Memorial know I was quitting, effective October, 2022. Despite the fact that I have a brick at the memorial representing my connective ties, it is time I move on. They are in the process of taking over the domain and will have the website rebuilt.

If you would like to follow me, I started my own personal website regarding patriotism: http://patrioticmemorial.byjoella.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.